Thoughts on my Funeral {Inspired by Naya Rivera’s cover of The Band Perry’s If I Die Young}

Naya/Santana’s cover of If I Die Young still brings chills to my heart. In my honest opinion, she sang it beautifully and she was able to convey her sadness about Cory/Finn’s passing quite convincingly.

:'(

Well, if I do die young, I wouldn’t want it to be a sad affair. I would want everybody to not mourn, but celebrate me – what kind of person I was, all the good I did, some funny stories. I just don’t want it to be sad, especially since I’m almost always an optimist (well, it depends who I’m talking to). Maybe a few band performances here, someone reading excerpts from my favourite books there, with people sharing their best memories with me sprinkled in between — I wouldn’t want anyone crying, because that’s something I do whenever I attend a funeral and it’s always painful and tiring, for both my heart and my eyes.

I’d want this reality to be a better one when I leave, and crying won’t help anything.

Author: Tracey Yap

Rantings of a raving med student

Sound off!

